Book Girl and the Suicidal Mime Light Novel Review

Review of the light novel Book Girl and the Suicidal Mime by Mizuki Nomura
First book in the Book Girl light novel series.

TITLE: Book Girl
AKA: Bungako Shojo, 文学少女, Literature Girl
AUTHOR: Mizuki Nomura
PUBLISHER (English): Yen On
RELEASE DATE (English): July 27, 2010
PURCHASE (Amazon Affiliate Link):

PUBLISHER (Japan): Famitsu Bunko (Enterbrain)
RELEASE DATE (Japan): April 28, 2006
VOLUMES RELEASED (Japan to Date): 16 (8 novels in main series, 4 short story volumes, 4 side story volumes)
ANIME SERIES: 4 OVA episodes, 1 Movie (The movie adapts v.5 of the light novel series, but the OVAs appear to be original stories)

From the back cover:

For Tohko Amano, a third-year high school student and self-styled “book girl,” being the head of the literary club is more than just an extracurricular activity. It’s her bread and butter…literally! Tohko is actually a literature-gobbling demon, who can be found at all hours of the day munching on torn out pages from all kinds of books. But for Tohko, the real delicacies are hand-written stories. To satisfy her gourmet tastes, she’s employed (rather, browbeaten) one Konoha Inoue, who scribbles away each day after school to satisfy Tohko’s appetite. But when another student comes knocking on the literary club door for advice on writing love letters, will Tohko discover a new kind of delicacy?


Rokka Braves of the Six Flowers Volume 1 Light Novel Review

Review of the light novel Rokka Braves of the Six Flowers Volume 1 by Ishio Yamagata.
A fantasy adventure series with this volume involving a locked room mystery twist!

Cho and I had a spoiler-filled conversation about Rokka at her website –

TITLE: Rokka Braves of the Six Flowers
AKA: Rokka no Yuusha, 六花の勇者
AUTHOR: Ishio Yamagata
PUBLISHER (English): Yen On
RELEASE DATE (English): April 18, 2017
PURCHASE (Amazon Affiliate Link):

From the back cover:

Seven heroes gather to save the world–but the legends spoke of only six.
Long ago, the Evil God was sealed at the edge of the continent, where it lies in slumber. Each time it awakens, it threatens to plunge the world into hell, and each time, six powerful warriors are chosen to seal it away again. But now, as the cycle begins anew, the Crest of the Six Flowers marks not six Braves…but seven. Hans, the mysterious assassin for hire. Mora, the elder of the All Heavens Temple. Chamo, the young but deadly Saint of Swamps. Nashetania, the princess, and Goldof, the knight yearning to win her heart. Fremy, the girl with a dark past. And Adlet, the boy with a dream. When the Braves of the Six Flowers realize one of their number is an impostor, hero will turn on hero in this exciting new series!